Licensure in DC


Sixteen states (listed below), the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands currently have licensing laws for naturopathic doctors.  In order to maintain a medical license in these jurisdictions, naturopathic doctors must graduate from an accredited naturopathic medical school, pass national board examinations (NPLEX), and participate in yearly continuing medical education.
The jurisdictions that currently license naturopathic physicians are:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire
  • North Dakota
  • Oregon
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • United States Territories: Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands


From the District of Columbia Department of Health:

“The DC Board of Medicine regulates licensure for Naturopathic Physicians. The application comes to the Board through the advisory committee. The Board evaluates applicants’ qualifications and recommends regulations, standards, and procedures. The Board also issues licenses; requests investigations, conducts hearings, and implements disciplinary and/or remedial action where indicated; and prepares an annual report for the Mayor.”

District of Columbia Department of Health Advisory Committee on Naturopathic Physicians  
717 14th Street, NW, Suite 600
Washington, DC 20005
Phone: (877) 672-2174
Fax: (202) 727-8471

For potential licensees: the license application package and requirements can be found here.